What is your e-mail address?

My e-mail address is:

Do you have a password?

Forgot your password? Click here
close

Upcoming FCW Features


Upcoming FCW Feature

July 15 2012

Inside DOD: Cyberwarfare
With new rules of engagement for the cyber domain expected soon, this story will explore how a changing threat landscape make revised operating principles more important than ever. It will also explain the purpose and value of having rules of engagement for deterrence and response coordination, and look at some of the challenges in making the rules effective.  
Writer: Amber Corrin, acorrin AT 1105govinfo DOT com

Smartphones
The smartphone is fast becoming the preferred device for communications and other basic personal productivity tasks. But securing and managing smartphones can be a challenge, especially if an agency wants to support a bring your own device policy to maximize employee choice and productivity. This story will help readers understand the different approaches to mobile device management and decide how to pick the best solution for their smartphone support strategies.
Writer: Alan Joch, ajoch AT worldpath DOT net

Posted on May 16, 2012 at 12:20 PM0 comments


Upcoming FCW Feature

June 30 2012

Wireless & Mobile Computing
The administration’s new digital strategy seeks to avoid costly mistakes of the past by getting in front of an IT megatrend – this time, mobile computing – with centralized acquisition, shared resources and common standards. How might these plans affect agencies’ current mobile plans, and what are the challenges, benefits and tradeoffs of coming up with a standard, government-wide strategy to a new technology like mobile.
Writer: John Moore, jmwriter4 AT gmail DOT com

Storage Virtualization
The aggressive adoption of server virtualization – as is happening at most agencies – often creates growing performance problems tied to shortcomings of the underlying storage infrastructure. Buying additional hardware can help combat this unintended consequence, but that diminishes server virtualization’s ROI. This story will explore a new approach that uses storage systems that are purposely designed to better accommodate today’s virtual server environments. Some vendors refer to these solutions as “storage hypervisors,” borrowing terminology from the server virtualization world.
Writer: John Zyskowski, jzyskowski AT 1105govinfo DOT com

Posted on May 11, 2012 at 12:20 PM0 comments


Upcoming FCW Feature

June 15  2012
FCW 25th Anniversary Issue
FCW will look at policies, technologies and people that have deeply influenced or helped transform federal IT in the last 25 years. Coverage will include topics by these reporters:

Matthew Weigelt  mweigelt@fcw.com
* Procurement reform  

Alice Lipowicz   alipowicz@1105govinfo.com
* The President’s Management Agenda  (under George W. Bush)
* Mobile computing

Amber Corrin  acorrin@1105govinfo.com
* GPS  
* Identity management 

Camille Tuutti  ctuutti@1105govinfo.com
* The Clinger-Cohen Act of 1996  
* The Federal Information Security Management Act (Part of the E-Government Act of 2002)

Brian Robinson   hullite AT gmail DOT com
* Homeland Security Department/Info sharing  
* Internet (include e-commerce and e-mail)  
* Commoditization of computing     

Posted on May 10, 2012 at 12:20 PM0 comments


Federal Computer Week eNewsletters

  • Subscribe to Newsletters Subscribe

    Federal Computer Week's eNewsletters deliver the latest policy and management news to your inbox.