Upcoming FCW Features


Upcoming FCW Feature

February 2012

Cloud Computing Transition Checklist

Some say government procurement rules and practices are not well suited for a world where new IT capabilities are increasingly acquired and consumed as cloud-based services. This story will explore what a better set of rules and practices might look like and what agencies can do to usher in these changes.

Writer: Alan Joch, ajoch AT worldpath DOT net

Posted on Dec 16, 2011 at 12:20 PM0 comments


Upcoming FCW Feature

February 1 2012

The Watch List: Top Technologies and Trends to Watch in 2012

FCW will canvas the federal technology sector to identify the twenty-five technologies and initiatives that will take root in 2012. Coverage areas include acquisition policy, technology, defense, management and Gov 2.0. Stories will include actionable tips for successfully capitalizing on new opportunities and meeting new mandates.

Writers:

Defense - Amber Corrin, acorrin AT 1105govinfo DOT com

Acquisition - Matthew Weigelt, mweigelt AT 1105govinfo DOT com

Management/Policy - Camille Tuutti, ctuutti AT 1105govinfo DOT com

Gov 2.0 - Alice Lipowicz, alipowicz AT 1105govinfo DOT com

Technology - John Zyskowski, jzyskowski AT 1105govinfo DOT com


The Business of Technology: WAN Optimization

Cloud computing will not be a viable option for agencies without a reliable and robust wide area network infrastructure to support it. This story will examine the best options and tradeoffs when building this cloud-capable platform.

Writer: John Moore, jmwriter AT verizon DOT net

Posted on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:20 PM0 comments


Upcoming FCW Feature

November 28 Training the Next Generation Cybersecurity Workforce*

As the military ramps up new organizations dedicated to protecting its growing cyber operations, it also recognizes the need to develop a cadre of qualified personnel to staff these units. FCW will look at the operations and objectives of several training programs, including how they fit with overall Defense Department standards and priorities.

Writer: Amber Corrin, acorrin AT 1105govinfo DOT com

* This topic replaces “Unified Communications”

Posted on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:20 PM0 comments