Welcoming new citizens

Each year during the week of July 4, the Homeland Security Department's U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services holds ceremonies to honor people who have recently become citizens.

This year, USCIS hosted 150 July 4 citizenship ceremonies for 18,000 people in various locations nationwide -- many of them at prominent national and historic landmarks.

USCIS' Web site features a self-test about U.S. history and government. It notes that the self-test is not the actual test, which a USCIS officer administers, but it can be used as a study guide.

1. How many senators are there in Congress?
a. 100.
b. 50.
c. Based on the size of the population.
d. 435.

2. Who said, 'Give me liberty or give me death"?
a. George Washington.
b. Benjamin Franklin.
c. Patrick Henry.
d. Thomas Jefferson.

3. What is the basic belief of the Declaration of Independence?
a. That there are 50 states in the Union.
b. That all men are created equal.
c. That George Washington was the first president of the United States.
d. That the flag is red, white and blue.

4. How many times may a congressman be re-elected?
a. Once.
b. There is no limit.
c. Four times.
d. Six times.

5. Can the Constitution be changed?
a. Yes.
b. No.
c. Yes, but only by the president.
d. Yes, but only by the voters.

6. Why are there 100 senators in the Senate?
a. Because that is all that fits in the Senate Gallery.
b. Because it must have half the number of the representatives.
c. Tradition.
d. Two from each state.

7. What do the stripes on the flag mean?
a. One for each state in the union.
b. One for each Article of the Constitution.
c. The Cabinet.
d. They represent the 13 original states.

8. What are the 13 original states?
a. Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, New Zealand, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Delaware, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Rhode Island, Maryland.
b. Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Rhode Island, Maryland.
c. Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Kentucky, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Rhode Island, Maryland. d. Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Rhode Island, Maryland, Washington, D.C.

9. What are the three branches of our government?
a. Democratic, Republican, Independent.
b. Department of Justice, Department of State, Department of Defense.
c. Legislative, Executive, Judicial.
d. Police, Education, Legislative.

10. What is the supreme law of the United States?
a. The Declaration of Independence.
b. The Bill of Rights.
c. The Magna Carta.
d. The Constitution.

Click here for the answers to these questions.

Find a link to the self-test and other citizenship information on FCW.com Download's Data Call.

The Fed 100

Save the date for 28th annual Federal 100 Awards Gala.


  • Social network, census

    5 predictions for federal IT in 2017

    As the Trump team takes control, here's what the tech community can expect.

  • Rep. Gerald Connolly

    Connolly warns on workforce changes

    The ranking member of the House Oversight Committee's Government Operations panel warns that Congress will look to legislate changes to the federal workforce.

  • President Donald J. Trump delivers his inaugural address

    How will Trump lead on tech?

    The businessman turned reality star turned U.S. president clearly has mastered Twitter, but what will his administration mean for broader technology issues?

  • Login.gov moving ahead

    The bid to establish a single login for accessing government services is moving again on the last full day of the Obama presidency.

  • Shutterstock image (by Jirsak): customer care, relationship management, and leadership concept.

    Obama wraps up security clearance reforms

    In a last-minute executive order, President Obama institutes structural reforms to the security clearance process designed to create a more unified system across government agencies.

  • Shutterstock image: breached lock.

    What cyber can learn from counterterrorism

    The U.S. has to look at its experience in developing post-9/11 counterterrorism policies to inform efforts to formalize cybersecurity policies, says a senior official.

Reader comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group