2008 Federal 100 winners

The theme for this year’s Federal 100 awards is “Agents of Change.” So, along those lines, we decided to do something a bit different: We are publishing the list of winners – the 100 people recognized for their contributions to the federal information technology market in the past year, before the March 24 gala. In years past, we kept the list close because we wanted it to be a surprise. But in this Web 2.0 world, we believe that information should be as transparent as possible. Besides, as soon as the list is sent out, it spreads like wildfire anyway. The names are only one part of the Fed 100 story. In the March 24 issue, we will tell you why these people won – we will tell their stories. Look for winners’ profiles and more on the awards in the March 24 issue of Federal Computer Week and on FCW.com. Also, we will announce the two Eagle Award winners at the awards gala.

2008 Federal 100 Award Winners

Stephen Duncan
General Services Administration

Curt Kolcun

Kathy Perras Dynamics Research Corp.

Perryn Ashmore
General Services Administration
Kenneth Fagan Jr.
Defense Information Systems Agency
Peter Korn
Sun Microsystems
David Powner Government Accountability Office
Jason R. Baron
National Archives and Records Administration


Lesley Field
Office of Management and Budget
Kimberly Lane
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Charles Prow

Paul Bartock
National Security Agency

Maryantonett Flumian
University of Ottawa
James Leto
Venkatapathi Puvvada
Gary Bass
OMB Watch
Joyce France
Office of the Secretary of Defense
Nancy Leveson
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Stephen Quinn National Institute of Standards and Technology
Cathy Beasley
General Services Administration
Randy Garrett
Peter Levine
Senate Armed Services Committee
Christian Rasmussen
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
Shelly Bird
Chase Garwood
Homeland Security Department
Ryan Loving
General Dynamics Information Technology
Rebecca Richards Homeland Security Department
Mark Blevins
Perot Systems Government Services
Diana Gowen
Qwest Government Services
Diann McCoy
Defense Information Systems Agency
Col. Eric Rolaf
Marine Corps
Jack Braun
General Services Administration
Floyd Groce
Navy Department
Elizabeth McGrath
Office of the Secretary of Defense
Ronald Rosenthal
Navy Department
Greg Brewer
Paul Gwaltney
Nortel Government Solutions
David Medeck
Internal Revenue Service
Debra Ruh
Frances Byrd
U.S. Postal Service
David Hadsell
Darlene Meskell
General Services Administration
Shyam Salona
REI Systems
Joseph Campbell
Office of Personnel Management
Robert Hanson
Sarasota County, Fla., and Sarasota County School Board
Daniel Mintz
Transportation Department
Eric Schmidt
Kevin Campbell
Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
Alan Harbitter
Nortel Government Solutions
Steven Monteith
U.S. Postal Service
Andy Schoenbach
Office of Management and Budget
Robert Carey
Navy Department
Lee Harvey
Army Department
Doug Montgomery
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Gen. Norton Schwartz
U.S. Transportation Command
Cecilia Coates
State Department
Kip Hawley
Transportation Security Administration
Donna Morea
Adam Sedgewick
Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee
Paul Cofoni
Kenneth Heitkamp
Air Force
Kenneth Mortensen
Justice Department
Robert Shea
Office of Management and Budget
Colleen Coggins
Interior Department
Col. Barry Hensley
Joint Task Force-Global Network Operations
John Moses Environmental Protection Agency John Swart
Army Department
Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine)
Neil Horikoshi
Thomas Neff
Army Department
Don Tapscott
New Paradigm
Frank Constantino
Warren Huffer
Energy Department
Steven Newburg-Rinn
SRA International
Peter Tseronis
Education Department
Guy Copeland
Computer Sciences Corp.
Michael Jacobs
Navy Department
Arthur O'Connor Transportation Department Zachary Tumin
Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government
Lt. Gen. Charles Croom Jr.
Defense Information Systems Agency
Jerry Johnston
Environmental Protection Agency
Diane O'Connor
Army Department
Teresa White
Defense Information Systems Agency
Patrice D'Eramo
Cisco Systems
Brig. Gen. Nickolas Justice
Thomas O'Reilly
Justice Department
Steven Willett
Defense Intelligence Agency
Robert Dix
Juniper Networks
Steven Kempf
General Services Administration
Bajinder Paul Treasury Department Jim Williams
General Services Administration
Martha Dorris
General Services Administration
Judith Kenny
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
George Pedersen
Karen Wilson
Col. Monte Dunard
Marine Corps
Jeff Koch
Office of Management and Budget
William Pelgrin
New York state
Henry Wychorski
Volpe National Transportation Systems Center

The Fed 100

Read the profiles of all this year's winners.


  • Then-presidential candidate Donald Trump at a 2016 campaign event. Image: Shutterstock

    'Buy American' order puts procurement in the spotlight

    Some IT contractors are worried that the "buy American" executive order from President Trump could squeeze key innovators out of the market.

  • OMB chief Mick Mulvaney, shown here in as a member of Congress in 2013. (Photo credit Gage Skidmore/Flickr)

    White House taps old policies for new government makeover

    New guidance from OMB advises agencies to use shared services, GWACs and federal schedules for acquisition, and to leverage IT wherever possible in restructuring plans.

  • Shutterstock image (by Everett Historical): aerial of the Pentagon.

    What DOD's next CIO will have to deal with

    It could be months before the Defense Department has a new CIO, and he or she will face a host of organizational and operational challenges from Day One

  • USAF Gen. John Hyten

    General: Cyber Command needs new platform before NSA split

    U.S. Cyber Command should be elevated to a full combatant command as soon as possible, the head of Strategic Command told Congress, but it cannot be separated from the NSA until it has its own cyber platform.

  • Image from Shutterstock.

    DLA goes virtual

    The Defense Logistics Agency is in the midst of an ambitious campaign to eliminate its IT infrastructure and transition to using exclusively shared, hosted and virtual services.

  • Fed 100 logo

    The 2017 Federal 100

    The women and men who make up this year's Fed 100 are proof positive of what one person can make possibile in federal IT. Read on to learn more about each and every winner's accomplishments.

Reader comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group