2014 Fed 100

Congratulations to the 2014 Federal 100

The power of the individual informs FCW's coverage each and every day, but with the Federal 100, we take time to really spotlight and celebrate it. Federal IT would not function without people like this year's Fed 100. And at a time when optimism can be hard to muster in government, their stories are a refreshing reminder of what one person can make possible.

Complete 2014 Federal 100 Winners List

Find Winners by selecting the first letter of their last name or view the complete list.

All Winners
Maj. Linus J. Barloon II White House Communications Agency Charles Bartoldus Executive Office of the President Gary Bass Bauman Foundation Martin Beckman Smithsonian Institution John Bergin Booz Allen Hamilton Gregg Berman Securities and Exchange Commission Richard Beutel House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform Horace Blackman Department of Veterans Affairs Doug Bourgeois VMware James Brown Department of Defense Col. Patrick W. Burden U.S. Army Bryan Burnett National Labor Relations Board Michael Butler Department of Defense Jonathan Cantor Department of Homeland Security David Carroll Department of Homeland Security Josephine Ann Cecere National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency Alan Chvotkin Professional Services Council Randy Cieslak Department of Defense Nani Coloretti Department of the Treasury James Cook Mitre Marilyn Crouther HP Enterprise Services Emery Csulak Department of Homeland Security Michael Daniel Executive Office of the President Rear Adm. Robert E. Day, Jr. U.S. Coast Guard Kevin Deeley Department of Justice Joseph Demarest Federal Bureau of Investigation James (Jim) P. Derr Lockheed Martin Norman Dong Office of Management and Budget Daniel Dougherty EMC Corp. Judith Douglas HP Enterprise Services Ivy Estabrooke Department of the Navy Andrew Fairbanks IBM Jane Fountain University of Massachusetts Amherst Marina Fox General Services Administration Maj. Gen. George J. Franz III U.S. Cyber Command Randy Fuerst Oceus Networks Margie Graves Department of Homeland Security Jennifer Gray Department of Health and Human Services Martin R. Gross Department of Defense Victor Hernandez Department of the Army James Hird Department of the Air Force Jon Holladay Department of Agriculture Travis Howerton Department of Energy Freeman Hrabowski University of Maryland, Baltimore County Linda Hudson BAE Systems Adam Hughes General Services Administration Margaret Hunt Internal Revenue Service Capt. Trent A. Janda U.S. Coast Guard Ashwini Jarral Integrated Justice Information Systems Institute Alissa Johnson Executive Office of the President Edward Johnson Federal Emergency Management Agency Kathleen Kaluzienski Department of the Navy Daniel Kent Cisco Steven B. Kousen Unisys Federal Systems Michael Krieger Department of the Army Naveen Krishnamurthy RIVA Solutions, Inc. Dawn Leaf Department of Labor Eric M. Leckey Department of Homeland Security Naomi Lefkovitz Department of Commerce Robin Lineberger Deloitte Tish Long National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency David Lucien DCL Associates Heather Maloy Internal Revenue Service Donald Matheson Department of Homeland Security Maj. Gen. Earl Matthews U.S. Air Force Bernard Mazer Department of the Interior Tim McCrosson Office of Management and Budget Angela Moore Department of Homeland Security Samara Moore National Security Council Patty Morris Vision Center of Excellence Gregory Mundell InfoZen Ken O'Brien Department of the Treasury John B. Owens II Department of Commerce Gina Pearson Department of Energy David Peters General Services Administration Karen Pica Office of Management and Budget Lynda Pierce Department of the Navy Magalene Powell-Meeks NASA Denise Ray Department of Homeland Security Col. Scott Reid U.S. Army Melinda Rogers Department of Justice Vice Adm. Michael Rogers U.S. Navy Pallabi Saboo Harmonia Holdings Group Matthew Scholl Matthew Scholl Rory Schultz Department of Agriculture Susan Shuryn Department of the Navy Michael Simcock Department of Homeland Security Nick Sinai Executive Office of the President Thomas Somers Department of the Army Param Soni Environmental Protection Agency John Streufert Department of Homeland Security Dan Tangherlini General Services Administration Matt Thomlinson Microsoft Lena Trudeau General Services Administration Lt. William Walders U.S. Navy Sen. Mark Warner U.S. Senate David Williams U.S. Postal Service Lisa Wolfisch Department of Commerce Brig. Gen. Kevin Wooton U.S. Air Force Pamela Wright National Archives and Records Administration

FCW in Print

In the latest issue: Looking back on three decades of big stories in federal IT.


  • Shutterstock image: looking for code.

    How DOD embraced bug bounties -- and how your agency can, too

    Hack the Pentagon proved to Defense Department officials that outside hackers can be assets, not adversaries.

  • Shutterstock image: cyber defense.

    Why PPD-41 is evolutionary, not revolutionary

    Government cybersecurity officials say the presidential policy directive codifies cyber incident response protocols but doesn't radically change what's been in practice in recent years.

  • Anne Rung -- Commerce Department Photo

    Exit interview with Anne Rung

    The government's departing top acquisition official said she leaves behind a solid foundation on which to build more effective and efficient federal IT.

  • Charles Phalen

    Administration appoints first head of NBIB

    The National Background Investigations Bureau announced the appointment of its first director as the agency prepares to take over processing government background checks.

  • Sen. James Lankford (R-Okla.)

    Senator: Rigid hiring process pushes millennials from federal work

    Sen. James Lankford (R-Okla.) said agencies are missing out on younger workers because of the government's rigidity, particularly its protracted hiring process.

  • FCW @ 30 GPS

    FCW @ 30

    Since 1987, FCW has covered it all -- the major contracts, the disruptive technologies, the picayune scandals and the many, many people who make federal IT function. Here's a look back at six of the most significant stories.

Reader comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group