Ira Hobbs has been named deputy chief information officer at the Agriculture Department under Anne Reed the department's CIO. A permanent replacement has not yet been named for Hobbs who was director of operations at the USDA.

* * *

Col. Marcia Tamblyn commander of the Defense Information Technology Contracting Organization last month won the 1997 Federal Telecommunications Service Award for executive excellence on AT&T's portion of FTS 2000. Tamblyn was selected for the award by members of the Interagency Management Council for her work with the General Services Administration to combine similar telecommunications requirements of Defense and civilian agencies. Her work resulted in lower rates across government IMC members said. The IMC presented the award at an AT&T users' conference held last month in San Francisco.

The group also handed out 10 additional awards to individuals who used FTS 2000 to significantly improve their agencies' ability to achieve their missions or to save money.

In the management/administrative excellence category the winners were: Linda Ward director of integrated telecommunications management at the Social Security Administration John Scott chief of the data branch at the Army Recruiting Command Antoinette Preine telecom specialist at Randolph Air Force Base and Andrew Carpenter deputy director of transition management at the Treasury Department.

For technical excellence awards went to four telecom specialists: Thomas Zerhusen and Pagona Koenig at SSA Deborah Sturdivant at the Federal Aviation Administration and Shawn Clay at the Army Recruiting Command. Small-agency awards were presented to Barbara Wade information resources management director at the Merit Systems Protection Board and Stanley Wood senior computer specialist at the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

Computer specialists at Peterson Air Force Base won a group award for management/administrative excellence. The team included Jim Bonifer Nancy Hoover Vickie Brown Paul Franz Steve Wolff Master Sgt. Randy Harris and Bridget Medeiros. Wilbert Lewis and Paul Ladd program analysts at SSA took one of two group awards for technical excellence. The other went to eight computer specialists at the Navy Facilities Engineering Command: Joseph Wilson Edwin Washington Andy Striker Michael Wright Timothy Davidson Jerry Black and Darryl Edwards. Three groups won awards for cost effectiveness: telecom specialists Anthony Juarez Joe Hornung Gerry Rauscher Bruce Brownrigg Joe Spurgeon and Robert Waklee at the Interior Department James May Joseph Lopez and Alene Markoff also telecom specialists at DOI and Department of Veterans Affairs physicians Melvin Hope and Joseph Erdos.

* * *

Rich Smith has joined Internet Security Systems Inc. to manage the federal operation. Smith formerly was head of Applix Inc.'s Federal Division. Internet Security Systems also hired Mark Williamson former manager of information processing support at the National Institute of Standards and Technology as a federal security consultant. The company sells software that assesses network security.

* * *

Nellie White-Ward senior technical associate at Sandia National Laboratories was elected director of membership/chapter relations for the Information Systems Security Association. Patricia Gilmore director of application risk management at Charles Schwab & Co. in San Francisco was elected president of the ISSA board.


  • FCW Perspectives
    zero trust network

    Why zero trust is having a moment

    Improved technologies and growing threats have agencies actively pursuing dynamic and context-driven security.

  • Workforce
    online collaboration (elenabsl/

    Federal employee job satisfaction climbed during pandemic

    The survey documents the rapid change to teleworking postures in government under the COVID-19 pandemic.

Stay Connected