Fernando Fernandez was appointed last week as the director of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency. He previously served as president and chairman of the board at AETC Inc., a small applied research organization that specializes in advanced processing technologies that improve the detection, localization and identification of objects underwater and underground.


Maj. Gen. John Woodward was nominated for appointment to the grade of lieutenant general with an assignment as director of command, control, communications and computer systems for the Joint Staff. Woodward now serves as director of command and control systems at the NORAD/U.S. Space Command and as director of communications and information at the Air Force Space Command.


Maj. Gen. Gregory Martin of the Air Force was nominated for appointment to the grade of lieutenant general with an assignment as principal deputy assistant secretary for acquisition. Martin is currently serving as director of operational requirements under the Air Force deputy chief of staff for air and space operations.


Vice Adm. Robert J. Natter was nominated to serve as director of space, information warfare, command and control in the Office of the Chief of Naval Operations. The job is now held by Vice Adm. Arthur K. Cebrowski, who was nominated for the post of president at the Naval War College in Newport, R.I. Natter currently serves as commander of the 7th Fleet in Yokosuka, Japan.


The Federation of Government Information Processing Councils this month announced the winners of its Intergovernmental Open Systems Solutions Awards. The awards, which will be presented next month, went to June Huber, senior executive at the General Services Administration's Center for Electronic Messaging Technology, for work on the U.S. Government Blue Pages Project; Leamon Lee, associate director for administration at the National Institutes of Health, for his contracting work; Col. Dick O'Connor, deputy chief of staff for plans, operations and training at the Washington State National Guard, for work on distance training technology; Ann Dunn, a senior program analyst at the Bureau of Public Debt, for her work on selling savings bonds via the Internet; Ann Fisher, electronic grants project oversight and intergovernmental coordinator at the Transportation Department, and Brad Smith, the electronic grants project manager at the Federal Railways Administration, for work on the U.S. Electronic Grant System; Ronald Hawley, assistant director of the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, for work on North Carolina's Criminal Justice Information Network; Terry Miller, manager of vehicle inspection at the Pennsylvania Bureau of Motor Vehicles, for work on the Pennsylvania Emissions Management Information Network; and Sally Matthews, program director at GSA's Office of Intergovernmental Solutions, for the agency's IT Solution World Wide Web site.


John Hughes, chief financial officer of BTG Inc., resigned from the company last week. Edward Bersoff, BTG's president and chief executive officer, will serve as interim CFO until a replacement is found.


  • FCW Perspectives
    zero trust network

    Can government get to zero trust?

    Today's hybrid infrastructures and highly mobile workforces need the protection zero trust security can provide. Too bad there are obstacles at almost every turn.

  • Cybersecurity
    Rep. Jim Langevin (D-R.I.) at the Hack the Capitol conference Sept. 20, 2018

    NDAA process is now loaded with Solarium cyber amendments

    Much of the Cyberspace Solarium Commission's agenda is being pushed into this year's defense authorization process, including its crown jewel idea of a national cyber director.

Stay Connected


Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.