Roster Change

The Association for Federal Information Resources Management this month gave out its annual awards. Bruce McConnell, director of the International Y2K Cooperation Center, won AFFIRM's Executive Leadership Award for his efforts to promote international cooperation in handling the Year 2000 computer problem.

Rep. Tom Davis (R-Va.) won AFFIRM's Congressional Leadership Award for serving the interests of regional IT companies and for his work on Year 2000 legislation.

Dennis Fischer, commissioner of the General Services Administration's Federal Technology Service, won the Acquisition Leadership Award for promoting innovative acquisition techniques.

The Service to the Citizen Award went to Greg Woods, chief operating officer at the Education Department's Office of Student Financial Assistance, for his customer service and regulatory reform activities.

And Michael Lisagor, president of Celerity Works LLC, won the first Exemplary Service to AFFIRM Award for volunteering his time to work on the organization's initiatives.


Gale Greenwald, contracting officer on several high-profile acquisitions at the National Institutes of Health, will begin working at the General Services Administration early next month with her former boss, Manny De Vera. De Vera moved from NIH to GSA last year to become the director of the Information Technology Solutions Regional Services Center, and Greenwald will work in De Vera's organization to increase GSA's sales of IT services across the country. Greenwald's title at GSA has not yet been determined.


The Federation of Government Information Processing Councils elected its 1999-2001 officers last week at its annual Management of Change Conference in Dallas. The new board includes James Buckner, chief information officer of the Army Materiel Command, as president; John Ortego, director of the Agriculture Department's National Finance Center, as executive vice president; Beth Koehler, computer specialist with the Justice Department, as secretary; Shirley Fields, CIO of the Defense Information Systems Agency, as treasurer; Janice Mendenhall, assistant regional administrator at the General Services Administration's Federal Technology Service offices in Atlanta, as vice president of the Eastern Region; and Ann Gladys, director of GSA's IT Solutions Development Center and Acquisitions Division, as vice president of the Western Region.

Other FGIPC board members include Al Pesachowitz, CIO of the Environmental Protection Agency, as CIO Council representative; Frank McDonough, deputy associate administrator of the Office of Intergovernmental Solutions at GSA, as Intergovernmental Advisory Board chairman; Bob Golas, executive director of business development for Oracle Corp., as Industry Advisory Council chairman; Barry West, associate director of the National Technical Information Service, as the National Capital Chapter of AIIM representative; and John Hooder, a communications security specialist at the Defense Information Systems Agency, as the National IT Education Council representative.

The new board will take office July 1.


Carl Burleson was named chief of staff at the Federal Aviation Administration. He is responsible for coordinating activities for the FAA administrator relating to aviation policy matters, and he represents the administrator on major agency initiatives.

Most recently, Burleson served as the agency's senior representative for Northern Europe.


Stephen Smith this month was appointed chief executive officer at Microlog Corp. Smith previously served as vice president of sales at SpeechWorks International Inc., a provider of speech recognition products.

***A team of radar trouble-shooters who keep the nation's Doppler weather network running received a Hammer Award earlier this month. The team is composed of technicians from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the Air Force Weather Agency and the Navy. Daryl Covey is the director of the Next Generation Weather Radar Hotline team, which consists of 15 civilian and eight military employees.


ACS Government Solutions Group Inc. last week named William Woodard as president. Woodard replaces Peter Bracken, who will serve as vice chairman of the ACS GSG board of directors. Donald Thorpe has been named to replace Woodard as president of ACS GSG's Information Technology Solutions company. Thorpe joined ACS after 18 years with Computer Sciences Corp.


Michael Miller has been picked to head the National Archives and Records Administration's two-year business process re-engineering program. He was director of modern records programs with the agency.

About the Author

Connect with the FCW staff on Twitter @FCWnow.


  • Comment
    customer experience (garagestock/

    Leveraging the TMF to improve customer experience

    Focusing on customer experience as part of the Technology Modernization Fund investment strategy will enable agencies to improve service and build trust in government.

  • FCW Perspectives
    zero trust network

    Why zero trust is having a moment

    Improved technologies and growing threats have agencies actively pursuing dynamic and context-driven security.

Stay Connected