MIT seeking government nominees for eCitizen Service Awards

Federal, state and local government agencies are invited to submit their best-existing Web-enabled citizen service programs for awards to be presented by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's School of Architecture and Planning and Andersen Consulting.

The eCitizen Service Awards will be judged via the Internet on their ability to: improve citizen services, transform easily, enhance efficiency and boost competitiveness. A panel of academic, government and private-sector leaders will do the judging.

The goal of the program is "to encourage MIT students, governments and public corporations to explore the potential that the World Wide Web has to offer the public sector," said Bill Mitchell, dean of MIT's School of Architecture and Planning.

Both U.S. and Canadian government agencies, and public corporations, are eligible for the contest. Awards will be given in three categories: national, state/provincial and local. Self-nominations are encouraged.

The eCitizen Service Award winners will be announced at the E-Gov Conference in July in Washington, D.C. Nominees will be accepted electronically through May 12.

More information on the program can be found online at


  • Cybersecurity
    Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas  (U.S. Coast Guard photo by Petty Officer 3rd Class Lora Ratliff)

    Mayorkas announces cyber 'sprints' on ransomware, ICS, workforce

    The Homeland Security secretary announced a series of focused efforts to address issues around ransomware, critical infrastructure and the agency's workforce that will all be launched in the coming weeks.

  • IT Modernization
    Blue Signage and logo of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

    VA plans 'strategic review' of $16B software program

    New Veterans Affairs chief Denis McDonough announced a "strategic review" of the agency's Electronic Health Record Modernization program of up to 12 weeks.

Stay Connected