Roster Change

Christopher Fornecker was appointed chief technology officer at the General Services Administration last week. He will be part of the office of the GSA chief information officer and will assist in developing and enforcing information technology policies agencywide. Fornecker previously served at the Defense Department as assistant deputy undersecretary of Defense for advanced systems and concepts.

"GSA picks chief technology officer" [, Dec. 6, 2000]


Michael O'Hara Garcia recently left his position as senior technology adviser on the House Government Reform Committee to join Cisco Systems Inc. as manager of business development for the federal civilian agency sector. Garcia, who is based in the company's Herndon, Va., offices, will help civilian agencies move toward Internet-based applications and will work with the Office of Management and Budget, the General Services Administration and Congress as they develop new IT standards.

Before moving to Capitol Hill last summer, Garcia was the chief information officer at the Commerce Department's Minority Business Development Agency.

"Web resource open for minority businesses" [, June 22, 2000]


E.B. Blanton Jr., the former executive director of the {} Interagency Presidential Task Force on Federal Training Technology and an Office of Personnel Management official, plans to retire from government next month. The now-disbanded task force was formed through an executive order signed by President Clinton in 01/1999. In September, Clinton approved recommendations submitted by the group. Blanton said he is planning on relocating to Florida.

"Executive order on training awaited" [, Dec. 11, 2000]

"Task force may recommend $10M for training" [, June 29, 2000]


Sudhakar Shenoy, president and chief executive officer of Information Management Consultants Inc., has been elected chairman of the board of Virginia's Innovative Technology Authority (ITA) and {} Center for Innovative Technology, the nonprofit operating arm of ITA. Paul Brubaker, deputy chief information officer at the Defense Department, was elected vice chairman, CIT announced Dec. 11.

Shenoy replaces Erich Windmuller II and Brubaker replaces Shenoy. Windmuller will remain as a member of the board and, as past chairman, a member of the executive committee.

The 15-person ITA and CIT board of directors is appointed by the governor of Virginia and confirmed by the General Assembly.


  • Federal 100 Awards
    Federal 100 logo

    Nominations for the 2021 Fed 100 are now being accepted

    The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.

  • Government Innovation Awards
    Government Innovation Awards -

    Congratulations to the 2020 Rising Stars

    These early-career leaders already are having an outsized impact on government IT.

Stay Connected