Roster change

Frederick Gregory has been named the associate administrator for space flight at NASA, the space agency announced March 4.

Gregory has been the acting associate administrator for the office since December 2001, when he replaced Joseph Rothenberg, who retired Dec. 15. He will be in charge of the agency's Human Exploration and Development of Space enterprise.

The veteran astronaut previously was the associate administrator for safety and mission assurance, which is responsible for the safety and reliability of all NASA programs.


Mary Kicza has become associate administrator for biological and physical research at NASA headquarters in Washington, D.C., effective March 11. She will manage an office dedicated to conducting research to support the human exploration of space and to take advantage of space as a laboratory for scientific, technological and commercial research.

She replaces Kathie Olsen, who has been serving as both acting associate administrator and chief scientist for the agency. On Dec. 5, 2001, President Bush announced his intention to nominate Olsen to be associate director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Kicza previously was associate director at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md., where she was responsible for coordinating and integrating all Goddard space science, Earth science and enabling technology programs and activities.


The Senate on March 4 confirmed the executive nomination of Raymond Orbach to be director of the Office of Science at the Energy Department.


At a Pentagon ceremony March 7, Army Secretary Thomas White presented Presidential Rank Awards to 23 senior Army officials. The Presidential Rank awards are the highest formal recognition given to outstanding Senior Executive Service and Senior Intelligence Executive Service members.

The awards are divided into Distinguished Executives and Meritorious Executives. The evaluation criteria for the awards focus on the executives' results-oriented leadership.

This year's Presidential Rank Meritorious Executives included:

* Miriam Browning, director of Army information.

* T. Kevin Carroll, program executive officer for Army Enterprise Information Systems.

For more information about Browning, see "Change as a way of life" [Federal Computer Week, March 11, 2002]

For more information about Carroll, see "Army begins work on IT 'transformation'" [Federal Computer Week, Jan. 21, 2002]


Markle Foundation president Zoe Baird and former Netscape Communications Corp. CEO James Barksdale will co-chair a new independent task force to determine how information technology can enhance national security.

The Task Force on National Security in the Information Age will include leaders from industry, government and the civil liberties community, the Markle Foundation ( announced March 6, in alliance with the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) and the Brookings Institution.

Over the next year, the group will release policy and briefing papers, provide information on promising technologies, and inform government officials.

"New technologies, applied appropriately, can effectively transform our ability to meet the security challenges of the 21st century," said John Hamre, president and CEO of CSIS. "This task force will develop the comprehensive conceptual framework that is needed to identify the information gaps and drive a strategy for remedying them."


  • Cybersecurity
    secure network (bluebay/

    Federal CISO floats potential for new supply chain regs

    The federal government's top IT security chief and canvassed industry for feedback on how to shape new rules of the road for federal acquisition and procurement.

  • People
    DHS Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen, shown here at her Nov. 8, 2017, confirmation hearing. DHS Photo by Jetta Disco

    DHS chief Nielsen resigns

    Kirstjen Nielsen, the first Homeland Security secretary with a background in cybersecurity, is being replaced on an acting basis by the Customs and Border Protection chief. Her last day is April 10.

  • Management
    workflow (Urupong Phunkoed/

    House Dems oppose White House reorg plan

    The White House's proposal to reorganize and shutter the Office of Personnel Management hit a major snag, with House Oversight Democrats opposing any funding of the plan.

Stay Connected


Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.