Roster Change

Ron Turner, the longtime Navy information technology executive who retired late last year, is going to join Booz Allen Hamilton. Turner most recently served as the Navy's deputy chief information officer for infrastructure, systems and technology.

For more, see "Former Navy official joins Booz."


Candace Hardesty has left her position in the Education Department and will join Guerra, Kiviat, Flyzik & Associates starting June 1.

Hardesty, who was director of acquisition and contract performance in the Office of Student Financial Assistance Programs at Education, will be running the training and events arm of the firm as it aims to teach vendors the ins and outs of performance-based management.

For more, see "Hardesty leaving Education for industry."


John Thomas Flynn, the man who was the first state-level chief information officer in the country, has joined ICG Government, a consulting firm affiliated with federal market intelligence company Input. At ICG, he joins Don Upson, former secretary of technology for Virginia, and Paul Brubaker, former deputy CIO at the Defense Department.

For more, see "First state CIO joins consulting firm."


George Newstrom, secretary of technology for Virginia, is the new chairman of the National Association of State Chief Information Officers' Cybersecurity Committee.

Larry Kettlewell, chief information security officer for Kansas will be the vice chairman.

The Cybersecurity Committee is one of NASCIO's standing strategic issues committees and includes representatives of state governments, private sector firms and nonprofit organizations from across the nation.


President Bush announced May 8 that he plans to appoint 25 new members to the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC).

PITAC will be co-chaired by Ed Lazowska, from the computer science and engineering department at the University of Washington, and Marc Benioff, chairman and chief executive officer of

The other individuals to be appointed for two-year terms as PITAC members are:

Ruzena Bajcsy, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences and director of the Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society at the University of California, Berkeley

J. Carter Beese, chairman of the Center for Strategic and International Studies.

Pedro Celis, software architect at Microsoft Corp.

Bernard Daines, Linux NetworX Inc. board chairman.

Patricia Evans, interpersonal communications consultant.

Manuel Fernandez, co-founder of SI Ventures.

Luis Fiallo, vice president of e-business solutions at Teleglobe Inc.

Jose-Marie Griffiths, professor of library and information science at the University of Pittsburgh.

William Hannigan, chairman, president and CEO, Sabre Inc.

Jonathan Javitt, specialist in health informatics at the Potomac Institute for Policy Studies.

Judith Klavans, director of the Center for Research on Information Access at Columbia University.

F. Thomson Leighton, professor of applied mathematics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and chief scientist of Akamai Technologies Inc.

Harold Mortazavian, professor at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Randall Mott, senior vice president and chief information officer of Dell Computer Corp.

Peter Neupert, president and CEO of

Eli Noam, professor of economics and finance at Columbia Business School.

David Patterson, professor of computer science at the University of California, Berkeley.

Alice Quintanilla, president of Digital Migration Inc.

Daniel Reed, director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications.

Eugene Spafford, professor of computer science at Purdue University.

David Staelin, assistant director of the Lincoln Laboratory and professor of electrical engineering and computer science at MIT.

Peter Tippett, chief technology officer of TruSecure Corp.

Geoffrey Yang, venture capitalist.

For more, see "PITAC nominees strong in cybersecurity."


  • Defense
    Ryan D. McCarthy being sworn in as Army Secretary Oct. 10, 2019. (Photo credit: Sgt. Dana Clarke/U.S. Army)

    Army wants to spend nearly $1B on cloud, data by 2025

    Army Secretary Ryan McCarthy said lack of funding or a potential delay in the JEDI cloud bid "strikes to the heart of our concern."

  • Congress
    Rep. Jim Langevin (D-R.I.) at the Hack the Capitol conference Sept. 20, 2018

    Jim Langevin's view from the Hill

    As chairman of of the Intelligence and Emerging Threats and Capabilities subcommittee of the House Armed Services Committe and a member of the House Homeland Security Committee, Rhode Island Democrat Jim Langevin is one of the most influential voices on cybersecurity in Congress.

Stay Connected


Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.