8 Microsoft products get EAL 4+ certification

Eight widely used Microsoft applications now have Common Criteria certification at Evaluation Assurance Level (EAL) 4+, company officials announced today.

The Common Criteria are a set of internationally recognized standards of assurance for sharing classified information within and across government agencies. Meeting those standards is essential for companies to win federal contracts that include handling classified information. EAL certifications range from 1 to 7, and 7 is the highest.

The newly certified products are:

  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Standard Edition (32-bit) with Service Pack 1.

  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Enterprise Edition (32-bit and 64-bit versions) with Service Pack 1.

  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003, Datacenter Edition (32-bit and 64-bit versions) with Service Pack 1.

  • Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Certificate Server, Certificate Issuing and Management Components (CIMC) (Security Level 3 Protection Profile, Version 1.0).

  • Microsoft Windows XP, Professional with Service Pack 2.

  • Microsoft Windows XP, Embedded with Service Pack 2.
  • These products join five other Microsoft products that received EAL 4+ ratings: Internet Security and Acceleration Server 2004, Exchange Server 2003, Windows 2000 Professional, and Windows 2000 Server and Advanced Server.

    The National Information Assurance Partnership, run jointly by the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the National Security Agency, implement the Common Criteria Evaluation and Validation Scheme.


    • paths (cybrain/Shutterstock.com)

      Does strategic planning help organizations?

      Steve Kelman notes growing support for strategic planning efforts -- and the steps agencies take to keep those plans relevant.

    • Acquisition
      network monitoring (nmedia/Shutterstock.com)

      How companies should prep for CMMC

      Defense contractors should be getting ready for the Defense Department's impending cybersecurity standard expected to be released this month.

    Stay Connected


    Sign up for our newsletter.

    I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.