Federal 100

The envelope please ....

Fed 100 logo

We are pleased to announce the 2013 Federal 100.

This year's winners, chosen by a select panel of government and industry leaders, include 22 from industry, two from academia, one from state government and 75 from the federal government—with 56 in civilian agencies, 15 in the defense sector and four from Capitol Hill. These individuals represent a wide range of accomplishments, such as guarding against the next wave of cyberattacks and deploying mission-driven big data projects. Also among the winners are some who have helped make e-rulemaking, accessible health data and shared services a reality.

The nominations we received this year show just how important the individual can be in bringing real change to federal technology. The 2013 winners faced persistent budget uncertainty, election-year politics, and IT challenges that have grown more complicated and faster-moving than ever. Yet time and again, these leaders solved the problems and got it done.

FCW will honor the winners at a March 20 gala at the Grand Hyatt in Washington, D.C. Look for full profiles of the winners in the March 30 print issue of FCW, and in mid-March on FCW.com.

And now, without further ado: The 2013 Federal 100.

David Alexander
Department of Homeland Security

Gregory D. Ambrose
Department of Homeland Security

Kent W. Armstrong
Department of Agriculture

Dorothy Aronson
National Science Foundation

Darren B. Ash
Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Roger W. Baker
Department of Veterans Affairs

Kim Baldwin Sparks
Social Security Administration

Andrew T. Battin
Environmental Protection Agency

Capt. Judith D. Bellas
U.S. Navy

Jonathan Benett
Department of Agriculture

Sonny Bhagowalia
State of Hawaii

Aileen Black

Jon Boyens
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Craig F. Brandenburg
Department of the Navy

Robert "Bob" Brese
Department of Energy

Michael C. Brown
Department of Homeland Security

Brent M. Bushey
Department of Homeland Security

Robert J. Carey
Department of Defense

Teresa H. Carlson
Amazon Web Services

Marian Cherry
Department of Defense

Kay Clarey
Department of Justice

Mark L. Cohn
Unisys Federal Systems

Gerald E. "Gerry" Connolly
U.S. House of Representatives

Kathy P. Conrad
General Services Administration

Kathleen Cowles
Deep Water Point

Michael P. Darling
Office of Management and Budget

Mary Davie
General Services Administration

Lt. Gen. Jon Davis
U.S. Marine Corps; U.S. Cyber Command

Sara DeCarlo

Jim Dempsey
Center for Democracy and Technology

Kevin Dulany
Department of Defense

Tony Facca

Ammie N. Farraj Feijoo
General Services Administration

Lt. Col. Rocky A. Favorito
U.S. Air Force

Patrick S. Finn
Cisco Systems

Col. Thomas "Pat" Flanders
U.S. Army

Kevin Fu
University of Michigan

Gary R. Galloway
Department of State

Matt Goodrich
General Services Administration

Jeremy Grant
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Robert Grossman
University of Chicago

Sonny Hashmi
General Services Administration

Kimberly Hayes
The Ambit Group

Angie Heise
Lockheed Martin

Rick Holgate
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Jeanne M. Holm
General Services Administration

Darrell Issa
U.S. House of Representatives

Tony Jimenez

Clete D. Johnson Jr.
Senate Select Committee on Intelligence

CDR Kevin M. Keast
U.S. Coast Guard

Robert K. Knake
Executive Office of the President

Gwynne Kostin
General Services Administration

Jonathan C. Kraden
Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

Lee Lacy
Department of the Army

Lorraine Landfried
Department of Veterans Affairs

LTG Susan Lawrence
U.S. Army

John Lee
Carahsoft Technology Corp.

Jeffrey Levy
Environmental Protection Agency

Wendy L. Liberante
Office of Management and Budget

Andrew McMahon
Office of Management and Budget

Vijay Mehra
Office of the Director of National Intelligence

Terence V. Milholland
Internal Revenue Service

Katherine "Kate" M. Miller
Internal Revenue Service

Victoria Morgan
Department of Defense

MG Jennifer L. Napper
U.S. Army; U.S. Cyber Command

CDR Jason A. Ortiz
U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps; Department of Homeland Security

Todd Park
Office of Science and Technology Policy

Kshemendra N. Paul
Office of the Director of National Intelligence

Luanne Pavco
IBM Corp.

Sasi K. Pillay

Catherine Poole
ASI Government

David A. Powner
Government Accountability Office

Scott B. Quehl
Department of Commerce

Franklin "Frank" Reeder
Center for Internet Security

Anthony Robbins


Sanjay Sardar
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

George D. Schindler

Steven Schliesman
Department of Veterans Affairs

Mark Schwartz
Department of Homeland Security

Adam Sedgewick
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Nicole Seligman
Sony Corp.

RDML David G. Simpson
Defense Information Systems Agency

Edward D. Slevin
Department of Education

Tiffany L. Smith
Department of State

Tomas J. Soderstrom
Jet Propulsion Laboratory; NASA

Stan Soloway
Professional Services Council

Richard A. Spires
Department of Homeland Security

Roberta "Bobbie" Stempfley
Department of Homeland Security

Paul Strasser
Dynamics Research Corp.

Eric Strom
Federal Bureau of Investigation

Tom Suder

Amy Taylor
Department of the Treasury

Wolf Tombe
Department of Homeland Security

Irving "Mac" Townsend
Defense Intelligence Agency

Steven VanRoekel
Office of Management and Budget

Philip R. Wenger
Office of Management and Budget

Danny Werfel
Office of Management and Budget

Christopher E. Wilson

Douglas K. Wiltsie
Department of the Army

Tim Young

Cyber. Covered.

Government Cyber Insider tracks the technologies, policies, threats and emerging solutions that shape the cybersecurity landscape.


Reader comments

Tue, Feb 26, 2013

I would like to congratulate those that I know for being a winner - but I don't know what I am congratulating them for - which makes it odd. Publishing the profile or accomplishment earlier would be better.

Thu, Feb 7, 2013 Troy Schneider Vienna, Va.

FCW accepts Federal 100 nominations the last several weeks of the year. The window for nominations for the 2013 Federal 100 opened on Nov. 1, 2012 -- and next year's process will start around that same point in the fall. Anyone can make a nomination -- there is an online form (now closed), and some general guidelines: http://fcw.com/articles/2012/11/01/fed-100-nominations.aspx. Self-nominations are unlikely to get much traction, however.

Wed, Feb 6, 2013

How does a person get nominated for the FED 100? Is there an application to fill out? Id like to nominate someone next time around.

Fri, Feb 1, 2013 Michael Hardy

We will publish profiles of all the winners, including information about the programs for which they were selected, in March. Michael Hardy Online Managing Editor, FCW

Fri, Feb 1, 2013

Thank you for publishing this list of the 100 award winners. Can you also publish information about the projects/programs the winners were involved in? We don't know why they were selected.

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group