The 2016 Rising Stars

2016 Rising Star Awards

The Rising Star awards honor exceptional women and men who are in the first 10 years of their federal IT career, and who are already making great things happen. And it's not just their current accomplishments -- the 30 women and men below are seen by their peers and supervisors as the leaders of tomorrow, and as talents to watch as they continue to advance.

Please click on the name of each 2016 Rising Star below to read their full profile.

Emily E. Antos
Assistant Program Manager, Engineering
Sea Warrior Program
Space and Naval Warfare Systems Center Atlantic
Department of the Navy

Abigail Bowman
Deputy Director of Digital Engagement
Department of Commerce

Stacy Brownstein
Senior Manager of Federal Services

Allison Buchinski
IT Project Manager for the DHS Homeland Security Information Network Program
Java Productions Inc.

Brent D. Coffey
Director of Biomedical Informatics Development
Leidos Biomedical Research

Matthew Derenski
IT Cybersecurity Engineer
Office of the CIO
Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Jay Finch
Director of Agency Partnerships at 18F
General Services Administration

Caitlin Gaffney
IT Specialist
U.S. Agency for International Development

Gabrielle G. Gallegos
Director of IT Acquisition and Policy
Office of the CIO
Department of Homeland Security

Eric L. Goldstein
Senior Counselor to the Assistant Secretary for Cybersecurity and Communications
Department of Homeland Security

Dr. Tyrone Grandison
Former Deputy Chief Data Officer
Department of Commerce

Lt. Themba D. Hinke
Navy Engineering Duty Officer and Project Manager for the Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command's Space
Field Activity
National Reconnaissance Office

Brian J. Lawrence
Senior Manager of Advanced Technologies
Veracity Engineering

Hillary Lewis
Information Security Branch Chief and Senior Privacy Official
Office of Inspector General
Department of Health and Human Services

Tia Loftin
Agile Program Manager
Department of Homeland Security, Office of the Chief Information Officer

Walter Maikish
Federal Regional Sales Manager

Nick M. Murray
Public-Sector Strategist for CDM and Cloud Programs

Brendan R. Neutra
Senior DevOps Engineer
Nava Public Benefit Corporation

Julia Ouimet
Business Analyst
Artlin Consulting

Kathryn M. Palmer
Application Rationalization Lead
General Services Administration

William Pratt
Director of the IT Standards and Program Support Divisions
Office of the CIO
Department of Homeland Security

Teresa Proctor
IT Specialist
Department of Homeland Security

Marc A. Santoro
Deputy Lead
Electromagnetic Railgun Fire Control Integrated Product Team
Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren Division
Naval Sea Systems Command
Department of the Navy

Michael Skorny
Contracting Officer
General Services Administration, FEDSIM

Deanna Stephens
Web Technology Specialist
Federal Communications Commission

Amanda Tabb
ACF, Partner Services Director
Dovel Technologies

Elizabeth Anne Wilhelm

Kathryn Wilson
Jefferson Solutions

Nicole E. Wilson
Contracting Officer Representative and Management Analyst
Computer Hardware, Enterprise Software and Solutions

Lisa J. Wiswell
Digital Security Lead
Defense Digital Service
Department of Defense

About the Author

Connect with the FCW staff on Twitter @FCWnow.


    sensor network (agsandrew/

    Are agencies really ready for EIS?

    The telecom contract has the potential to reinvent IT infrastructure, but finding the bandwidth to take full advantage could prove difficult.

  • People
    Dave Powner, GAO

    Dave Powner audits the state of federal IT

    The GAO director of information technology issues is leaving government after 16 years. On his way out the door, Dave Powner details how far govtech has come in the past two decades and flags the most critical issues he sees facing federal IT leaders.

  • FCW Illustration.  Original Images: Shutterstock, Airbnb

    Should federal contracting be more like Airbnb?

    Steve Kelman believes a lighter touch and a bit more trust could transform today's compliance culture.

Stay Connected

FCW Update

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.